Finger Sandwiches

I cannot believe I have only been here two weeks. I feel like this place around me has so quickly become my reality. Don’t worry, fellow Americans, I miss you! Training is really intense, and the associated meeting of new people, integration into my community and training group, and constant travelling really zaps my energy. So that was a longwinded way of saying ‘sorry for the delay in my first real posting.’ So many small, random things have happened to me and my training group since we got to staging (including, but not limited to, 14 hours in the Sao Paulo Admirals Club, subsistimg on finger sandwiches for the better part of two day, and daily fights with an overprotective goose on my walk home). Obviously plenty to talk about in this post,  I think what I’lldo is give a few of the most noticable pro and cons of my PC training and life in PY so far.

PRO: Host family. I am living with an incredibly generous family in Hugau Naro, whcich is a tiny town about an hour outside of Asuncion. I honesly could not ask for a better situation- I have electricity,good food, an internet connection (thank you kindle!),and a fan! I also have three sisters and no brothers,so I remain, as always, in an estrogen heavy home life. It’s great!

CON: Language. Every day my spanish gets better, but guarani is still a huge struggle. Spanish is very common here in PY, but the language in the heart of Paraguyans in Guarani, and for me to be an effective development worker here, I really need to get a hold on this idioma. It’s a bit frustrating right now though. But, I know I will eventually figure it out!

PRO: Other PCVs, PCTs, and the training staff. I have yet to meet a person associated with the PC that i didn’t really enjoy talking with. The words ‘friend crush’ have been used on more than one occasion. This weekend, I am heading out to spend three nights with a current Peace Corps Volunteer in Lasantania, in the Departamiento de San Pedro. It is my first time travelling on the country wide bus transportation system alone, an I am going about seven hours away, so it is going to be an adventure! Looking forward to it!

All in all, I have had way more positive than negative expierences since I have been here, and am hungry for more. I am sure I’ll get my fill.

I miss and love you all very much!

If you are particularlly curious about something specific, plese comment or shoot me an email!

Early day tomorrow,

Nate

PS. If you find any spelling errors in this post, don’t blame me! Kindle is a little finiky when it comes to typing.

5 thoughts on “Finger Sandwiches

  1. For reals Nate, only you would consider “not knowing the language after three weeks” a con haha. It sounds ah-mazing! and I’m glad you are crushing on new friends and hanging out with more sisters, sounds like the life 🙂

Leave a comment